While developing your WordPress website, from time to time, you will need to update your content or even remove old and irrelevant pages. Luckily, in WordPress, these tasks are effortless and straightforward. In the following lines of this tutorial, we are going to overview the process and explain each step in detail.
If this sounds like something you would like to advance your knowledge at, let's jump straight to the point!
For a start, we need you to log into your WordPress Admin Dashboard by accessing your domain followed by "/wp-admin", i.e., "yourdomain.com/wp-admin", where "yourdomain.com" stands for your own domain name.
Once logged, please navigate through the left-hand side menu bar to Pages > All Pages.
An alternative way to access your existing pages is to directly click on the "Pages" link in the left sidebar.
Both actions will take you to the "Pages" section, where you will find a list of all your pages, and you will be able to manage them.
You are allowed to customize all existing pages within your website, whether they are published or drafts.
Please navigate through the list and locate the page you would like to edit. Once you find it, hover over it, and you will be presented with two edit options:
Let's see how each of the edit options works.
The "Edit" option allows you full flexibility while updating your pages.
When you click on the “Edit” button, you will be redirected to an interface exactly the same as for creating pages. You should be already well familiar with it and know your way around. In case you are not certain of what specific setting controls, please refer to our tutorial on How to create new Pages in WordPress, where you will find a detailed explanation.
Once you perform the desired changes, please make sure to click on the "Update" button to apply them.
The "Quick Edit" option, on the other hand, is a real time-saver, and you will find it way more effective in specific situations.
Once it is clicked, you will remain on the same page, and you will be presented with all the settings you can modify. This includes the page title, slug, date of publication, page category, and page order. You can also password-protect your page or make it private. You can control the commenting on the page, and you can change the template it is assigned to. As well as, the page status, of course.
When you perform the desired changes, please make sure to click on the "Update" button to apply them.
Now you are familiar with both methods to modify your pages, and you have the freedom to select the most suitable one based on what exactly you would like to edit.
While your website grows, you will get to a point where you will need to remove some unrelated pages.
The first step of deleting a page, it to move it to the trash. To do so, please navigate back to the list of pages and again hover over the page you wish to delete. This time, please click on the "Trash" option.
That action will instantly move your page to the trash and get it ready for deletion.
The previous action does not permanently delete pages. They are simply moved to the Trash, where you have the option to restore them if they were removed by mistake or permanently delete them if you are sure they are no longer needed.
It is time to perform the second required action. First, please click on the "Trash" link at the top of the page.
Within the "Trash" section, you will see a list of all deleted pages. To completely remove the desired page, please hover over it and click on the "Delete Permanently" link.
With this done, your page had been permanently removed. Please be extremely cautious while using this option, as once apply the page will be removed irreversibly.
In case you have several pages you would like to delete at once, please go back to the "All" pages sections. Then, you can mark the desired pages by ticking the corresponding checkboxes and selecting the "Move to Trash" option from the "Bulk Actions" dropdown menu at the top of the page. Afterward, from the "Trash" section, you have to mark all desired pages in the same manner and select the "Delete Permanently" option from the "Bulk Actions" dropdown menu at the top.
Congratulations! You have just learned how to edit and delete existing Pages in WordPress! Editing and deleting posts in WordPress is a handy tip for managing your posts with confidence. With these options, you can upgrade your pages easily and make your website more attractive to the customers.
Sebahat is a young and bright person who had become an invaluable part of our team. Started as a Customer Care Representative who quickly evolved into a Tech-savvy well familiar with every support layer of the company. Driven by the aim to constantly improve our customers’ experience she is committed to enhancing the extraordinary support we deliver.